garden

The bees are buzzin’

mangia minga // 'The bees are buzzin'

Look for the bare necessities
The simple bare necessities 
Forget about your worries and your strife 
I mean the bare necessities 
Old Mother Nature’s recipes
That brings the bare necessities of life

Wherever I wander, wherever I roam 
I couldn’t be fonder of my big home 
The bees are buzzin’ in the tree 
To make some honey just for me 
When you look under the rocks and plants 
And take a glance at the fancy ants 
Then maybe try a few

The bare necessities of life will come to you 
They’ll come to you!

How awesome is this: my mum decided to help fight the mass death of bees. Her garden now houses two young bee colonies!

Since she mostly mows the lawn with a sythe and only after the oxeye daisies have wilted there’s plenty of swarming grounds for her new little tenants. And to make sure her protegés fare well in the neighbouring gardens as well, she wrote a pamphlet encouraging the neighbours to let lose their lawns, too.

The colonies are still very small. But next year, I’m hoping to experience my first honey harvest.

mangia minga // 'The bees are buzzin'

mangia minga // 'The bees are buzzin'

Leave a Reply

