make

Wedding Prep: sewing bag toss bags

We’ve done some serious wedding planning in the past few days: making calls, writing emails, design and discussing invitations… And sewing bean bags!

We were already thinking about setting up a few lawn games when I walked into a pretty cutesy fabric store in Maxvorstadt and they happened to have fabric in just the right turquoise hue. I couldn’t have not gotten it, but Dub might have even been more excited about the fabric than me.

mangia minga // 'wedding prep: sewing bag toss bags'

The bean bags were such a nice change in sewing compared to my Dirndl (Bavarian dress) – not much thinking how to work the seams involved at all. I whipped up 24 of them in a few hours. Here’s how:

Cut your fabric into even squares. I went with an edge length of 16 cm including a seam allowances of roughly 1 cm on each edge.

mangia minga // 'wedding prep: sewing bag toss bags'

Pin the squares right side together leaving a 6 cm gap on one edge. Make sure to backstitch properly to each side of that opening.

mangia minga // 'wedding prep: sewing bag toss bags'

mangia minga // 'wedding prep: sewing bag toss bags'

Turn the bags outside out. This was my favourite part, seeing how this crumbled mess turned into a nice and square bag. Use the end of a spoon to turn out the corners all the way.

mangia minga // 'wedding prep: sewing bag toss bags'

mangia minga // 'wedding prep: sewing bag toss bags'

mangia minga // 'wedding prep: sewing bag toss bags'

Fill the bags with “beans”. I used spelt grains, other options are cherry pits or dried beans. I just liked the feel of the small grains. I tried 170g, 200g and 220g and we settled on 200g for the 14 cm x 14 cm bags. Using a funnel was key here – I would have gone crazy if I had to spoon the grains into the bags by hand!

mangia minga // 'wedding prep: sewing bag toss bags'

mangia minga // 'wedding prep: sewing bag toss bags'

And finally, sew the remaining opening close. It’s helpful to pin a few cm away from the opening, to keep the grains away from the seam. I’ve definitely broken needles before on similar projects.

mangia minga // 'wedding prep: sewing bag toss bags'

Get tossing! I brought one of the bags over to my friends place and throughout the whole soccer semi-final (Argentina vs. Netherlands) one of us was playing around with it. Granted – the game wasn’t particularly exciting, but the bag also just felt really good in your hands!

Leave a Reply

